Onalaska Scout Troop Scores

Gerhard Dieckman, troop 22, Chehalis, took individual honors but the newly revived Onalaska troop, 39, won the largest number of awards Friday evening at the Boy Scout court of honor. john E. Murray presided at the affair.

Gerhard was given Star Scout recognition. The Onalaska troop showed that it is going ahead rapidly by presenting six Scouts for second class awards. They were Kenneth Burchette, Larry Dahlin, Lawrence Estine [stet], Kenneth Kahler, Donald Littleton and Dick McGee.

Howard Hitchcock, troop 20, Chehalis, received the first class award. Merit badges went to Stuart Blakely, troop 22, automobiling, woodworking and scholarship; Craig McMicken, troop 22, cooking; Clifford Severins, troop 22, handicraft; Bobby Rinehart, troop 20, handicraft; Howard Hitchcock, troop 20, handicraft; Frank Junkin, troop 20, cooking, and Milton Layton, troop 20, athletics and farm home.

Source: The Advocate, 3 December 1940, page 4. Microfilm available at Washington State Library, 6880 Capitol Boulevard South, Tumwater, Washington 98512

Transcribed by Kathryn Lester